T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh makes two changes in 15-member squad

T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh makes two changes in 15-member squad


KARACHI: After the tri-series in New Zealand, Bangladesh announced two changes to their T20 World Cup squad, adding Soumya Sarkar and Shoriful Islam to the final 15-player group.

The two new members take the position of Sabbir Rahman and Mohammad Saifuddin. Shoriful shared the most wickets in the series in the UAE and would provide Bangladesh with additional alternatives for left-arm pace bowlers, while Sarkar would give Bangladesh more top-order batting choices and an all-around bowling option.

Shoriful and Sarkar were both initially listed as tournament reserves. Saifuddin and Sabbir, however, underperformed in the tri-series against New Zealand and the UAE, forcing the team to make roster adjustments.

Shoriful played three of the four matches in the tri-series in New Zealand while Sarkar was also involved in two of them.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Nurul Hasan, Afif Hossain, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Litton Das, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shoriful Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Musaddek Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali Chowdhury.

Stand-by players: Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin.

Bangladesh’s World Cup group-stage opener will be against South Africa, followed by matches against India and Pakistan, two of Asia’s top nations.

Source link